Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Recover Designer Working Sets

If your Domino Designer environment is as stable as mine, you loose your precisely crafted Working Sets at least once a week. I still do not know why Designer is as instable as it has been the last few weeks, but at least I have found a way to recover a lost Working Set. Hooray!

The first step is to make sure you have a backup of the notes/data directory. I recommend CrashPlan+. The family plan is hard to beat in price if you have more than one computer or a couple of VM's. It allows you to do offsite cloud backups, with up to 10 computers, unlimited in size. Additionally, you can backup to a local drive, NAS or friends computer (free, free, free). There's no excuse not to do backups.

With that out of the way, the Working Sets are stored in a file in your notes/data directory:
notes\data\workspace\.metadata\.plugins\org.eclipse.ui.workbench\workingsets.xml
Each time Domino Designer starts up with blank Working Sets,  close Notes and Domino Designer, restore the file mentioned above from your backup system and start Notes / Domino Designer.

Game on!

3 comments:

  1. If you add the Package Explorer as detailed in my recent blog ( http://ntf.gbs.com/nathan/escape.nsf/d6plinks/NTFN-8GP6RP ) post, and turn on Working Sets there, you'll find something interesting: the working sets apply to both the Application Navigator and Package Explorer. But they are VASTLY easier to manage in Package Explorer, because you can drag & drop between working sets, and they're presented as a real tree.

    So, whether you lose them because of a crash or not, you can at least manage them better from PE.

    Hope that's useful!

    ReplyDelete
  2. @Nate thanks for the tip. I wasn't aware you could drag and drop the working set projects/databases.

    Please do watch out for the "Delete" action on databases in the Package Explorer, as it does wat it says. It isn't a "Remove" or "Remove from working set", it really deletes the database from the server. Been there...

    ReplyDelete